The USPS and Social Media

 

In my current position with the United States Postal Service I monitor the USPS Facebook and Twitter page on daily basis and am currently serve on the social media strategy team. I help create content purposed to engage readers, and get people talking about the United States Postal Service. Our ultimate goal is to increase followers on both Facebook and Twitter as we move forward.  We also work with PR firms on specific social media campaigns to promote stamps mostly but sometimes products as well. We post content at least once every two days that includes texts, photos, and sometimes links to videos.

The USPS got a late start in the social media world but we are now heading in the right digital direction, using Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn as the premier gateway way to communicate with customers and employees. Social media is a whole new world for the United States Postal Service after all it, our organizations mission is to provide trusted, affordable, and universal postal services to the people of the United States. That is hard copy letters; it’s why we are in business. I think most can understand why we were late to the social media party. Yet now that we are here, we are getting better every day. With just 71,000 followers on our Facebook page, we have a long way to go.

On a personal note: In this week’s readings, lectures and exercises I learned that I don’t know nearly as much as I thought I did regarding all the different social media platforms that exist, how to use them and what they do. I am still working on figuring them out and it’s painful.  Although I too can be included in the 48% percent of people that check social media even before getting out of bed after week one of this class I felt like staying in bed.

Posted on August 28, 2013, in Lessons Learned. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Keep it up Darleen! All this social media can be frustrating, but I think it is will eventually be things we are glad to know about. I’m glad the USPS is working on their social media presence. With things happening that threaten the limitation of services offered by the USPS, it is now more important than ever to humanize the service and help the public know how integral a postal service is to civilization in general. 71,000 followers is a long way to go, but I’m glad they are going to have you on the case! 😉 good luck and let me know if I can help with getting anything set up for classes. Jake

    Like

Leave a Reply

